Skip to main content

remote access - Is there a way to detach/reattach the Frontend from a running Mathematica Kernel?


I perform long calculations on a fast remote machine running the Mathematica kernel, where I followed the very useful guide Remote Kernel Strategies to establish the connection. I wonder, however, if there is a way to detach the Frontend from the running kernel in the same way as one can use the Linux program screen to keep remote shell sessions alive. I couldn't find anything similar for Mathematica, even though such a feature would be very convenient. Is there a way of doing that?


Many thanks,


Andreas.




Answer



This comes a little late, but this is my solution:


Remote Machine running linux with tmux (similar to screen but newer, should work with screen but I dont know the commands) and Mathematica 10 installed.


Local Machine running MacOS Yosemite with Mathematica 10.




  1. Launch tmux in remote machine and execute Mathematica:


    tmux


    wolfram (executable to mathematica in terminal mode)





  2. Now create a link with TCPIP protocol. Record the linkname="linkPort1@remoteIP,linkPort2@remoteIP" generated.


    link=LinkCreate[LinkProtocol -> "TCPIP"]                                
    LinkObject[linkPort1@remoteIP,linkPort2@remoteIP, 72, 1]


  3. Now in local machine, start Mathematica and go to Evaluation->Kernel Configuration Options -> Add... and fill out the window just as showed below.Dont forget to replace (insert remote ip ) by the remote machine ip address and insertLinkName by the link name that was generated above enter image description here clic ok. Then open a new notebook and set the above created kernel as the notebooks kernel. Dont evaluate anything yet in this notebook.




  4. Go back to your remote machine and run



    $ParentLink=link


  5. Finally go back to the notebook in your local machine and evaluate something:


    $Version 


So now you are running the kernel in the remote machine with the front end in your local machine.





  1. To disconnect from the Kernel, evaluate the following in your notebook:


    LinkClose /@ Links[]


At this point your kernel is still running in the remote machine. To reattach follow steps 2 through 5.


This could be automatized with a script. Also if you know that a port is always available, you could set the link with a persisten name so that you dont have to reconfigure the remote kernel each time you attach.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

plotting - How to draw lines between specified dots on ListPlot?

I would like to create a plot where I have unconnected dots and some connected. So far, I have figured out how to draw the dots. My code is the following: ListPlot[{{1, 1}, {2, 2}, {3, 3}, {4, 4}, {1, 4}, {2, 5}, {3, 6}, {4, 7}, {1, 7}, {2, 8}, {3, 9}, {4, 10}, {1, 10}, {2, 11}, {3, 12}, {4,13}, {2.5, 7}}, Ticks -> {{1, 2, 3, 4}, None}, AxesStyle -> Thin, TicksStyle -> Directive[Black, Bold, 12], Mesh -> Full] I have thought using ListLinePlot command, but I don't know how to specify to the command to draw only selected lines between the dots. Do have any suggestions/hints on how to do that? Thank you. Answer One possibility would be to use Epilog with Line : ListPlot[ {{1, 1}, {2, 2}, {3, 3}, {4, 4}, {1, 4}, {2, 5}, {3, 6}, {4, 7}, {1, 7}, {2, 8}, {3, 9}, {4, 10}, {1, 10}, {2, 11}, {3, 12}, {4, 13}, {2.5, 7}}, Ticks -> {{1, 2, 3, 4}, None}, AxesStyle -> Thin, TicksStyle -> Directive[Black, Bold, 12], Mesh -> Full, Epilog -> { Line[ ...

list manipulation - Selecting multiple columns from a matrix?

Sample data: data = { {{2013, 1, 1}, 24.13, 167.67, 231.82}, {{2013, 1, 2}, 32.15, 170.92, 225.99}, {{2013, 1, 3}, 35.43, 172.68, 221.67}, {{2013, 1, 4}, 36.73, 173.05, 218.32}, {{2013, 1, 5}, 58.19, 165.96, 197.05}, {{2013, 1, 6}, 69.99, 163.50, 187.52}, {{2013, 1, 7}, 71.37, 154.21, 175.58}, {{2013, 1, 8}, 72.51, 149.66, 163.25}}; I want a DateListPlot with three graphs, so for a matrix formed by columns 1 and 2, one for columns 1 and 3, and 1 for columns 1 and 4. At the moment I'm using this code: data2 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 2]]}]; data3 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 3]]}]; data4 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 4]]}]; DateListPlot[{data2, data3, data4}, Joined -> True, Filling -> {3 -> {1}}] but I have a hunch that this can be done more efficiently. I don't like the Transpose s in particular. Any ideas? edit (for extra credit) What if I need to multiply the second column by 2, which in my solution is simp...

plotting - How to draw some 2D curves in a 3D plot?

I want to plot several 2D curves ( Sin[x] at y=0 , Cos[x] at y=1 ) in a 3D plot, what function should i use? f[x_, y_] := Piecewise[{{0, y 0}, {Sin[x], y == 0}}] g[x_, y_] := Piecewise[{{0, y 1}, {Cos[x], y == 1}}] Plot3D[{f[x, y], g[x, y]}, {x, 0, 10}, {y, 0, 10}] doesn't work. Any ideas? Answer ParametricPlot3D[{{Sin[u], 0, u}, {Cos[u], 1, u}}, {u, 0, 20}, BoxRatios -> 1, PlotRange -> {{-2, 2}, {-.5, 2}, {0, 20}}] === update - general thoughts === I've seen the comments to this question and a few other approaches to the waterfall (or wire) plot are given in this question: Plotting several functions . Also I cannot not mention one of my favorite Mathematica blogs - Archery with this post on the story of discovery of 1st pulsar and an its infamous graphics - code is given in the post: