Skip to main content

interoperability - Clipboard with transparency



After reading this question I have determined that


Rasterize[Graphics[Circle[]], "Image", Background -> None]

allows you to do Save As on the Image and the keep the transparency. But if you use the the menus Edit->Copy As->Bitmap or Edit->Copy As->Metafile I have noticed that graphics fail to keep their transparency when pasting into other applications.


Now I can Export an image and copy and paste it back into Mathematica(or another application) and everything works just fine, therefore the clipboard can hold references to transparent images.


Doing some further investigation, here is an image of ClipSpy showing how CF_HDROP and FileNameW(FileName doesn't seem to contain the entire piece of text) contain the location of the png file, allowing you to paste it into other applications.


enter image description here


When working with lots of images, exporting every image becomes quite tedious. It seems like their should be some way to automatically have Mathematica export the file and store a reference of it in the clipboard to retain the image transparency.


So how do I patch or extend Mathematica's clipboard functionality to work with transparent images? Possible useful links for myself and others 1 2 3 4


EDIT: It appears a handful of applications like Inkscape and Powerpoint don't allow you to paste with only a CF_DROP reference. Instead it seems to be better to store the actual image as a PNG on the clipboard.




Answer



Here is a considerable simplification of Liam's accepted answer. It avoids the need to create and compile a C# program. This is basically just a small modification to Simon Woods' answer, so that it writes directly to the clipboard instead of creating a temporary file on disk. This avoids the need to clean up the file afterward.


Needs["NETLink`"]

WriteToClipboardTransparent[g_] :=
Module[{png, strm, dataObject},
InstallNET[];
png = ExportString[Rasterize[g, "Image", Background->None], "PNG"];
NETBlock[
strm = NETNew["System.IO.MemoryStream", ToCharacterCode[png]];

dataObject = NETNew["System.Windows.Forms.DataObject"];
dataObject@SetData["PNG", strm];
LoadNETType["System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard"];
Clipboard`SetDataObject[dataObject]
]
]

The button and menu commands would then simply call WriteToClipboardTransparent[NotebookRead[InputNotebook]].


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

plotting - How to draw lines between specified dots on ListPlot?

I would like to create a plot where I have unconnected dots and some connected. So far, I have figured out how to draw the dots. My code is the following: ListPlot[{{1, 1}, {2, 2}, {3, 3}, {4, 4}, {1, 4}, {2, 5}, {3, 6}, {4, 7}, {1, 7}, {2, 8}, {3, 9}, {4, 10}, {1, 10}, {2, 11}, {3, 12}, {4,13}, {2.5, 7}}, Ticks -> {{1, 2, 3, 4}, None}, AxesStyle -> Thin, TicksStyle -> Directive[Black, Bold, 12], Mesh -> Full] I have thought using ListLinePlot command, but I don't know how to specify to the command to draw only selected lines between the dots. Do have any suggestions/hints on how to do that? Thank you. Answer One possibility would be to use Epilog with Line : ListPlot[ {{1, 1}, {2, 2}, {3, 3}, {4, 4}, {1, 4}, {2, 5}, {3, 6}, {4, 7}, {1, 7}, {2, 8}, {3, 9}, {4, 10}, {1, 10}, {2, 11}, {3, 12}, {4, 13}, {2.5, 7}}, Ticks -> {{1, 2, 3, 4}, None}, AxesStyle -> Thin, TicksStyle -> Directive[Black, Bold, 12], Mesh -> Full, Epilog -> { Line[ ...

list manipulation - Selecting multiple columns from a matrix?

Sample data: data = { {{2013, 1, 1}, 24.13, 167.67, 231.82}, {{2013, 1, 2}, 32.15, 170.92, 225.99}, {{2013, 1, 3}, 35.43, 172.68, 221.67}, {{2013, 1, 4}, 36.73, 173.05, 218.32}, {{2013, 1, 5}, 58.19, 165.96, 197.05}, {{2013, 1, 6}, 69.99, 163.50, 187.52}, {{2013, 1, 7}, 71.37, 154.21, 175.58}, {{2013, 1, 8}, 72.51, 149.66, 163.25}}; I want a DateListPlot with three graphs, so for a matrix formed by columns 1 and 2, one for columns 1 and 3, and 1 for columns 1 and 4. At the moment I'm using this code: data2 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 2]]}]; data3 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 3]]}]; data4 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 4]]}]; DateListPlot[{data2, data3, data4}, Joined -> True, Filling -> {3 -> {1}}] but I have a hunch that this can be done more efficiently. I don't like the Transpose s in particular. Any ideas? edit (for extra credit) What if I need to multiply the second column by 2, which in my solution is simp...

plotting - How to draw some 2D curves in a 3D plot?

I want to plot several 2D curves ( Sin[x] at y=0 , Cos[x] at y=1 ) in a 3D plot, what function should i use? f[x_, y_] := Piecewise[{{0, y 0}, {Sin[x], y == 0}}] g[x_, y_] := Piecewise[{{0, y 1}, {Cos[x], y == 1}}] Plot3D[{f[x, y], g[x, y]}, {x, 0, 10}, {y, 0, 10}] doesn't work. Any ideas? Answer ParametricPlot3D[{{Sin[u], 0, u}, {Cos[u], 1, u}}, {u, 0, 20}, BoxRatios -> 1, PlotRange -> {{-2, 2}, {-.5, 2}, {0, 20}}] === update - general thoughts === I've seen the comments to this question and a few other approaches to the waterfall (or wire) plot are given in this question: Plotting several functions . Also I cannot not mention one of my favorite Mathematica blogs - Archery with this post on the story of discovery of 1st pulsar and an its infamous graphics - code is given in the post: