Skip to main content

mac os x - Compatibility of Mathematica Notebooks written on Mac with Windows


I wrote a notebook on Mac OS 10.7.4 and run it on Windows XP at work. On my Mac I use a full version of Mathematia 8.0.1.0, whereas on the Windows-system only a trial version (Version 8.0.4.0.).



First of all I cannot run the following code on the Windows system (on Mac it works perfect):


ImportData={{"Test1", 5670.`, 0.`, 180.`, 2756.`, 2443.`, 180.`, 1008.`, 2007.`},
{"Test2", 100.`, 0.`, 3006.`, 1235.`, 9874.`, 4543.`, 3241.`, 5004.`}};

WhitespaceCleaning[string_] :=
StringReplace[
string, (StartOfString ~~ Whitespace) | (Whitespace ~~
EndOfString) :> ""]

OriginalData =

Drop[ImportData, 1] /. {a_, b_, cc_, d_, e_, f_, g_, h_, i_} ->
{WhitespaceCleaning@a, {b, cc, d, e, f, g, h, i}};

However I can get the same result as on my Mac with the following code for my Windows system:


allData=ImportData;
numData=allData[[All,2;;]]
strings0=allData[[All,1]];
stringsWOSpacing=WhitespaceCleaning/@strings0;
OriginalData=Transpose[{stringsWOSpacing,numData}]


The rest of my code runs perfect (I get the same results on both operating systems). However, running my code on Windows provokes many messages (such as Divide::index, Divide::infy, Power::infy, General::stop, Less::nord, LessEqual::nord) which does not happen on my Mac.


I don't understand why Mathematica on my Windows system is acting so odd. Does anyone has an idea?



Answer



My feeling is that your Windows system is performing like it should and that the problem lies with your OS X system. Using the -> instead of :> causes the immediate evaluation of the right hand side of the rule yielding an expression of the form


StringReplace[a, (StartOfString ~~ Whitespace) | (Whitespace ~~ EndOfString) :> ""] 

with a still undefined. Since StringReplace expects a string as first argument it balks and generates an error message. It then returns unevaluated. Then the pattern match kicks in, a gets the value "Test2" and evaluation of StringReplace continues, now with the sting "Test2" as argument which works.


In this case the :> is the better choice.


The question should be: why doesn't your Mac version object like the Windows version does (and not the other way around)?


I see a number of options:




  • On your Mac version you have set error messages preferences (Edit > Preferences > Evaluation> Message and Warning action) to not print to the input notebook

  • You have switched off error messages using Off somewhere


You might try (on your Mac MMA) the following and see whether it generates an error message (it should):


Message[StringReplace::strse]

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

plotting - How to draw lines between specified dots on ListPlot?

I would like to create a plot where I have unconnected dots and some connected. So far, I have figured out how to draw the dots. My code is the following: ListPlot[{{1, 1}, {2, 2}, {3, 3}, {4, 4}, {1, 4}, {2, 5}, {3, 6}, {4, 7}, {1, 7}, {2, 8}, {3, 9}, {4, 10}, {1, 10}, {2, 11}, {3, 12}, {4,13}, {2.5, 7}}, Ticks -> {{1, 2, 3, 4}, None}, AxesStyle -> Thin, TicksStyle -> Directive[Black, Bold, 12], Mesh -> Full] I have thought using ListLinePlot command, but I don't know how to specify to the command to draw only selected lines between the dots. Do have any suggestions/hints on how to do that? Thank you. Answer One possibility would be to use Epilog with Line : ListPlot[ {{1, 1}, {2, 2}, {3, 3}, {4, 4}, {1, 4}, {2, 5}, {3, 6}, {4, 7}, {1, 7}, {2, 8}, {3, 9}, {4, 10}, {1, 10}, {2, 11}, {3, 12}, {4, 13}, {2.5, 7}}, Ticks -> {{1, 2, 3, 4}, None}, AxesStyle -> Thin, TicksStyle -> Directive[Black, Bold, 12], Mesh -> Full, Epilog -> { Line[ ...

list manipulation - Selecting multiple columns from a matrix?

Sample data: data = { {{2013, 1, 1}, 24.13, 167.67, 231.82}, {{2013, 1, 2}, 32.15, 170.92, 225.99}, {{2013, 1, 3}, 35.43, 172.68, 221.67}, {{2013, 1, 4}, 36.73, 173.05, 218.32}, {{2013, 1, 5}, 58.19, 165.96, 197.05}, {{2013, 1, 6}, 69.99, 163.50, 187.52}, {{2013, 1, 7}, 71.37, 154.21, 175.58}, {{2013, 1, 8}, 72.51, 149.66, 163.25}}; I want a DateListPlot with three graphs, so for a matrix formed by columns 1 and 2, one for columns 1 and 3, and 1 for columns 1 and 4. At the moment I'm using this code: data2 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 2]]}]; data3 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 3]]}]; data4 = Transpose[{data[[All, 1]], data[[All, 4]]}]; DateListPlot[{data2, data3, data4}, Joined -> True, Filling -> {3 -> {1}}] but I have a hunch that this can be done more efficiently. I don't like the Transpose s in particular. Any ideas? edit (for extra credit) What if I need to multiply the second column by 2, which in my solution is simp...

calculus and analysis - Integral of the Sinc product

Let us consider the following integral $$ B_n = \int_0^\infty \prod_{k=1,3,5,\dots}^n\frac{\sin (x/k)}{x/k}dx $$ By definition, Sinc[x] == Sin[x]/x , therefore B[n_?OddQ] := Integrate[Product[Sinc[x/k], {k, 1, n, 2}], {x, 0, Infinity}] B /@ Range[1, 13, 2] {Pi/2, Pi/2, Pi/2, Pi/2, Pi/2, Pi/2, Pi/2} OK, everything is fine. But... B[15] 467807924713440738696537864469 Pi/935615849440640907310521750000 What's going on? Answer As Eckhard wrote in comments B[n] is the n-th Borwein integral . (The letter B was not accidental :) ) This funny properties of Borwein integrals is related to the Fourier transform of Sinc function FourierTransform[Sinc[x], x, k] 1/2 Sqrt[Pi/2] (Sign[1 - k] + Sign[1 + k]) Plot[%, {k, -2, 2}, Filling -> 0] which is the box function. The result is $\pi/2$ while the sum $$ 1/3+1/5+\dots+1/n $$ B_n = \frac{\pi}{2} - \pi \bigg(\sum_{k=3,5,\ldots}^n\frac{1}{k} -1\biggr)^\frac{n-1}{2}\prod_{k=3,5,\dots}^n\frac{k}{k-1}. $$ For $n=15$ it is equal to $$ \frac{46780...